Back to Faculties

IT and Computing


Key Stage 3:

Pupils are taught in mixed ability groups. We cover a range of topics as detailed below. They have one lesson per week. We make use of a range of resources to provide an interesting and stimulating approach to learning about the use of technology, such as interactive content on the school online learning platform. We see ICT as a tool that we need to learn how to use effectively.

What do pupils learn in KS3?

Key Stage 4:

Pupils follow the European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) offered by the British Computer Society (BCS) which covers the key concepts of computing, its practical applications and their use in the workplace and society. There are three Modules: Spreadsheets, Word Processing and Presentations, which build upon pupils’ prior skills and knowledge to enable competence in more advanced utilities. The fourth Module, Productivity in IT, develops the pupil’s ability to plan, evaluate and improve procedures involving the use of IT tools and systems in order to improve the productivity and efficiency of work. Assessment is made through a set of four separate examinations – one for each unit.

Sixth Form:

We currently offer the following qualifications:

a) AS and A Level (Single Award) Applied ICT (OCR)

AS Units
  • Using ICT to communicate; creating and evaluating different types of ICT publications
  • How organisations use ICT
  • ICT solutions for individuals and society – finding and presenting information
A2 Units
  • Working to a brief - project management
  • Developing and creating websites
  • Interactive multimedia products

Assessment is primarily by portfolio assessment which is internally assessed but externally moderated. Each portfolio consists of smaller projects which are produced throughout the year allowing for informal assessment on a frequent basis. One unit is assessed through an external examination.

The course gives students a wide choice of progression routes into further study, training or relevant employment in ICT. Students may move on to degrees or employment in areas such as computer science, multimedia, e-business and information management, information systems, software development and website design.

b) Level 3 BTEC Nationals in IT (Edexcel)

There are two levels to the course. In year one students work towards the Certificate, which is an equivalent to an AS qualification. In year two students continue towards a Subsidiary Diploma, broadly equivalent to one A Level. The course comprises discrete units, three per year.

A typical structure may look like this:

Year 1
Communication and Employability Skills for IT
Computer Systems
Cisco Discovery 1

Year 2
Computer Game Platforms and Technologies
Object Orientated Programming
Cisco Discovery 2

Back to Faculties